The Historic Greenup Depot, built through community effort in 1870, is currently in the museum complex on the Historic National Road. The Depot building has served the St. Louis, Vandalia & Terre Haute Railroad, the Pennsylvania Railroad, the Penn-Central Railroad, and the Illinois Central Railroad.
In 1973, six years after the Depot closed to freight traffic, the Illinois Central Railroad sold it to the CCHGS for $25, and it was moved to Haughton Park. In 1992, it was moved once again and renovated for use as a train museum.
In its current location, the Depot brings to mind a bygone era when railroads brought Greenup many freight shipments and travelers. The main floor boasts the original waiting room and office fixtures and a model railroad depicting major periods of American Railroading. This depot is one of few constructed with second-story living quarters, currently beautifully restored in 1930’s era decor.